Richmond Name Six New Players For Championship Opener
Richmond face Bedford Blues in the second match of a double header at the Richmond Athletic Ground on Saturday 2nd September, KO 5pm.

Twickenham Stadium may be hosting its annual double header on Saturday, but there are also back to back Green King IPA Championship matches taking place just down the A316 at the Richmond Athletic Ground.

Richmond play Bedford Blues at 5pm following London Scottish’s opener against last year’s runners up Yorkshire Carnegie. The last time Richmond faced Bedford at the Athletic Ground, it was the Londoners who finished triumphant with a 49-26 win, but with the dawning of a new season, both teams will be approaching this fixture afresh hoping to get their seasons off to a winning start.

Having maintained most of last season’s squad, the starting line-up for Richmond has a familiar look, but there are a number of new signings who will win their first cap for the South West London side on Saturday. Ben Rath and Luc Jones both start in the backs having made the shortest of journeys from London Scottish and Harlequins, respectively.

In the forwards Craig Trenier, previously of Ulster, starts in the front row. Bath and Neath player Alex Humfrey partners Captain Will Warden in the second row, and Jake Parker joins an established back row having signed from Cornish Pirates.

Steve Hill has selected one further debutant on the bench, with Blackheath and London Welsh back rower Jesse Liston set to make his debut if he comes on.

To enable rugby fans to enjoy a whole day of rugby, Richmond are offering a special deal for London Scottish members and indeed for anyone with a ticket to London Scottish versus Yorkshire Carnegie. Present your membership card or match day ticket and you can get in for the discounted price of just £10.

Ticket prices:


Non Member


£10 pre booked

or on the gate

£13 pre booked

£15 on the gate


No Charge



No Charge

No Charge

London Scottish v Yorkshire Carnegie Ticket Holders

£10 on the gate

Tickets can be pre booked by calling 020 8332 7112 or via


15 Jordan Simpson-Hefft
14 Jono Woodward
13 Cameron Mitchell
12 Ronnie McLean
11 Ben Rath
10 Freddie Gabbitass
9 Luc Jones

1 Will Goodrick-Clarke
2 Jason Phipps
3 Craig Trenier
4 Will Warden (capt)
5 Alex Humfrey
6 Jake Parker
7 Jack Allcock
8 Chris Davies

16 Ross Grimstone
17 Jeremy Cunnew
18 Jessie Liston
19 Jamie Gibbs
20 Ali Chisholm
21 Harry Edwards
22 Joe Tarrant