Richmond take to the field at 3pm on Saturday 9th September against Ealing Trailfinders with a new look back row as Chris Davies moves to lock.

Having joined the club in 2010, Chris Davies has been an almost ever present in the Richmond side. When he ran onto the pitch against Bedford last week, he became the most capped Richmond player of the modern era, surpassing Henry Head (189) and Andy Cuthbert (162).

On Saturday, against local rivals Ealing Trailfinders, he will start in the second row. Whilst equally happy in that position he has won the majority of his caps at no. 8. Jake Parker replaces Davies at the back of the scrum and Jesse Liston is promoted from the bench following a strong display last week. Jack Allcock completes the tenacious triumvirate.

Jeremy Cunnew is also elevated to the starting line-up. Rob Kirby returns at full back having taken a week off due to injury, which moves Jordan Simpson-Hefft back to the wing.

Speaking of their 7-36 defeat to Bedford last week, Director of Rugby Steve Hill said, ‘Our first half performance was disappointing. We lacked precision and discipline and Bedford took their chances well. To win the second half 7-0 showed a good deal of character and good impact from the bench.

He continued, ‘We will need to be at our best from the first minute when we face Ealing this Saturday.’

Ealing Trailfinders secured an opening weekend win, or be it by just one point against Cornish Pirates. They have a good record against Richmond both in the Championship and at National 1 level, so this will no doubt be a tough derby day encounter.

The last time Richmond met Ealing at the Athletic Ground, the match was live on Sky. By coincidence this fixture will also be live streamed on the England Rugby Facebook page and on the new Championship website (

15 Rob Kirby
14 Jono Woodward
13 Cameron Mitchell
12 Ronnie McLean
11 Jordan Simpson-Hefft
10 Freddie Gabbitass
9 Luc Jones

1 Jeremy Cunnew
2 Jason Phipps
3 Craig Trenier
4 Will Warden
5 Chris Davies
6 Jesse Liston
7 Jack Allcock
8 Jake Parker

16 Ross Grimstone
17 Will Goodrick-Clarke
18 Alex Humfrey
19 Jamie Gibbs
20 Ben Rath
21 Harry Edwards
22 Joe Tarrant