Richmond Hope To Silence The Scots

Friday night sees Richmond kick off a new competition with new rules, but there is nothing new about the side they face – the old enemy London Scottish. A huge derby match gets the Championship Cup underway, and while it is being played on familiar ground for the men in old gold, red and black, London Scottish are the home side for the opening encounter.

The hosts will be keen for revenge for the Championship opener, too, where Richmond’s two second half tries were enough to seal a 24-19 win that kick-started their season. Scottish have been impressive since - with wins over Jersey and Bedford the season highlights to date – but this is a new competition and a clean slate, so both sides will be keen to make the first statement.

Director of Rugby Steve Hill has resisted the urge to make big changes to his Richmond side. After impressing in a tight 28-21 bonus point defeat to Jersey, there is a familiar look about the team that head out tomorrow. In the backs, Cam Hudson comes in at 12 in the only change to an exciting line-up. Lewis Dennett gets his second start at 10 after impressing alongside Luc Jones, while on the bench, Ben Cook and Marcus Webber both await their first appearances for the first team.

Up front, it’s a straight swap in the front row, with the Jersey replacements of Jeremy Cunnew, Jason Phipps and Dave Spelman coming in to start, and the starting trio of Craig Trenier, Ross Grimstone and Will Goodrick-Clarke dropping to the bench. The scrum has been a major area of strength so far this season, and after coming on to earn a penalty try, the trio certainly deserve a start. Behind them, Charlie Lenygon retains his place, with Max Crawford coming in alongside him for his first start of this season.

The backrow remains unchanged, with the strong trio of Will Warden, Jesse Liston and Jake Parker once again charged with getting Richmond some front foot ball, and Andrew Boyce in reserve ready to come on and cause more mayhem.


1 Jeremy Cunnew
2 Jason Phipps
3 Dave Spelman
4 Charlie Lenygon
5 Max Crawford
6 Will Warden
7 Jesse Liston
8 Jake Parker

9 Luc Jones
10 Lewis Dennett
11 Jordan Simpson-Hefft
12 Cam Hudson
13 Cam Mitchell (c)
14 Sam Edgerley
15 Rob Kirby

16 Ross Grimstone
17 Craig Trenier
18 Will Goodrick-Clarke
19 Andrew Boyce
20 Jamie Gibbs
21 Ben Cook
22 Marcus Webber